Don't Miss
Home > Uncategorised > Glenryan take seven in junior division

Glenryan take seven in junior division

The second series of games in the Cork Darts Organisation Fosters sponsored trophies were completed on Monday night last and it was the Glenryan who were top scorers as they completed a 7 nil whitewash of O’Cionnaigh’s in the junior trophy.

Sharpshooters for the Glenryan Tavern were Glenn Cunningham, Gavin Duggan, Eddie Duffy, John Byrne, Eddie Murray, Brendan Herlihy and Paul McGarry.

Ma Dullea’s travelled to Blarney Street in their junior fixture against the River Lane and returned to their base on Tower Street as 5-2 winners mainly through the efforts of Gerry O’Reiley, Tom Daly, Mossie Holland, Nicky Burns and Noel Hornibrook while wins for the River Lane came from Gordan Barry and Ian McCarthy.

Tom Lynchs went down on their own board after they had welcomed Aunties to the Barrack Street venue suffering a narrow 4-3 defeat.

Tom Lynchs winners were Willie Murphy, Thomas Moloney and Ger Power  as against the four from Aunties courtesy of Dan Buckley, Shane Sewell, Alan Leahy and Steve Wills.

The remaining result in the junior division saw the Fox and Hounds record a 6-1 win at home against the Tower Bar.

Newly promoted Carrigaline GAA  who began life in the second division last week and had a 5-2 win found themselves at the receiving end of the same scoreline on Monday night last as they went down at home to the Glenryan Tavern.

Glenryan’s winners were Pat McCarthy, Paul O’Leary, John Kelleher, Dan O’Leary and Ger Kiely while Carrigaline’s winners were Jack Darrer and Tom O’Mahony.

Residence  followed up on last weeks 6-1 loss at the Glenryan with another heavy defeat on Monday night at home against the Cow by 5-2.

Ian Gosnell and Ger Duggan were the two winners for the Residence while the five wins for the Cow came from Arthur Lannigan, Brian O’Sullivan, Evan Creagh, Graham Buckley and Sean Seward.Joshua Tree went down 4-3 at home to the Old Reliable, Tom Barrett, Jim Hyde and Sean Kent won for the Josh with wins for the Old Reliable coming from Alan O’Sullivan, Christy Coughlan, Paul Mealy and John McCarthy.

The annual Cork Darts Organisation Easter darts gala sponsored by Carling Lager will once again be staged at St, Vincent’s Hurling and Football club pavilion on Easter Monday.

The main event will be the men’s Carling doubles championship while there will also be a plate competition for preliminary round losers, thus giving all players who enter at worst two games on the day.

There will also be a youths  singles competition at the venue on the day which will be organised by members of the Cork Youth Darts committee with entries being accepted at the venue from 11.15 and darts in the air at 11.45.

Entries for the men’s adult doubles championship will be accepted at the venue from 2.30pm up until 3.30pm with first darts on the oche at 4pm.

Entries will not be taken over the phone and all entries must present themselves in person at the administration table, this competition is confined to current team active Cork Darts Organisation members only.

About Frank Goulding