Don't Miss
Home > Uncategorised > Awards night at Heineken KILN

Awards night at Heineken KILN

The annual Cork Darts Organisation presentation of awards night was hosted by Heineken Ireland at the Kiln recently where the end of season players and teams of the year were honoured by magnificent awards kindly sponsored by Gurranabraher Credit Union.

Heineken representative Jim Cashman welcomed all present to the Kiln before handing over to CDO Chairman Frank Goulding who spoke on the long association going back to 1949 that the CDO had with this brewery and also thanked Gurranabraher Credit Union for their support and congratulated in advance all the recipients present .

CDO vice-chairman Sean Leahy began the presentation with the ladies team of the season which went to Ma Dullea’s after a most successful term.

The ladies A division player of the season was shared between last season’s winner Breda Barrett  from the Joshua Tree and Ma Dullea’s Kathryn Hewitt who was once again back in the winners enclosure, whilethe ladies B division award went to Martina Murphy of the Local who for the fifth successive season went home with this award.

Next up was the men’s awards  and it was the Harp Bar who came through to take the accolade after taking two winners and two runner’s-up in team events.

The overall player of the season award went to Stephen Coveney of the Joshua Tree who had a really magnificent season winning two double’s championships, and also adding the Premier players individual league to his cv.

David Cassidy representing Quinlan’s  and William Kennedy representing  the Gallows could not be separated in the men’s first division  awards category as both shared , and it was Pat Ryan of  Ma Dullea’s who came through to take the  second division player of the season while another Ma Dullea’s player  received the junior player of the season award  as Francie Holland accepted after a very fruitful season.

As usual it was the Cork Darts Organisation hall of fame award that had most people waiting as this award is always kept secret until the inductee is named on the night and this year it went to the very deserving Jim “Buller” Mullane who got quite emotional while being presented with his piece.

However there was still time for one more surprise and this came as the MC for the night vice-chairman Sean Leahy was totally taken by surprise as CDO chairman Frank Goulding and President Michael O’Connell presented a magnificent piece of crystal to honour Sean’s total dedication to the sport for over forty years.

The annual general meeting of the CDO will take place on Tuesday August 21st, at the upstairs Lounge of the River Lane on Blarney Street at 8.30pm.

All clubs can attend with no more than 2 delegates with one delegate allowed to vote on any matter if it should arise, any motions for the AGM must be with the Secretary no later than Tuesday August 14th otherwise they will not be read at the AGM.

Also at the River lane on Tuesday August 14th, there will be a special meeting at which all super league players are invited to attend along with any team players who will be promoted to the super division for the upcoming season.

Very important issues are down for discussion at this meeting and it is in the players own interests that they should make every effort to attend this meeting which will get underway at 8.30pm.

About Frank Goulding