Don't Miss
Home > Uncategorised > Highlights of season 1995/96

Highlights of season 1995/96

The 19th, annual general meeting of the Cork Darts Organisation was held at Ardmanning House on Monday August 21st, 1995 with the following elected to serve on the CDO committee for the upcoming season.

President, Dennis Olliffe, Chairman, Roy O’Donovan, Secretary, Sean Leahy, Treasurer, Sean Street, Monday registrar, Frank Goulding, Friday registrar, Tom Hegarty, Lady registrar, Rita Hannigan,

Working committee, Jimmy “Buller” Mullane, Mary Barrett, Andy O’Neill, Diane McCarthy, Noel Bray, Sean Moynihan, Noel McCarthy, Paddy Coleman, Mary Long, Charlie Crowley, Michael O’Sullivan.

Gateway Bar were Summer league winners, and Aunties took the Leukaemia tournament while Stephen Hill was the Tom O’Sullivan memorial singles winner.

Early season winners in CDO competitions saw the Island Tavern win the Charity Shield, Stephen Coveney and Chris O’Neill were the October doubles champions.

Double R ladies and the Mountain ladies were winners of the A and B grades in their respective divisions while Martin Cotter proprietor of Ye Olde Tavern and Rita Hannigan got together and organised a number of games against a visiting ladies team of all stars from the Bronx in New York which proved to be very popular.

Delany’s and the Regional Inn were successful in winning their leagues in the B and C divisions while in Friday night 5-A-side league action it was the CIE club, Kay O’Mahony’s and the Double R who took the Super division, A and Junior divisions respectively.

Stephen Coveney won his fifth Cork City individual darts championship and soon followed with another two in successive seasons, Coveney also added the Guinness individual championship for good measure this season.

First ever Beamish individual champion Martin Cotter receiving the cup from Ray Rahilly of Beamish. Also included is on left Martin Cotter proprietor of Ye Olde Tavern and Roy O’Donovan Chairman CDO.

Mary Long won the ladies Satzenbrau individual championship while Martin Cotter of the Island Tavern was the winner of the very first Beamish individual championship which was held at Ye Olde Tavern (River Lane) while John Harte received the Cork Indoor Sports Association award for darts.

Frank Goulding

About Frank Goulding