Don't Miss
Home > Uncategorised > Some highlights of season 1999/2000

Some highlights of season 1999/2000

World darts champion Phil Taylor and Peter Manley pictured with CDO committee members Roy O’Donovan RIP, Frank Goulding and Sean Street RIP, prior to their best of 31 legs challenge at a packed Arcadia on Saturday February 19 2000, Taylor won the challenge 16-3.

The 23 rd, AGM of the Cork Darts Organisation was held at the CIE club at the Arcadia on 24th, August 1999.

The following were elected to serve on CDO committee for the upcoming season 1999/2000.

President Councillor Michael O’Connell, Chairman Roy O’Donovan, Secretary Frank Goulding, Treasurer Sean Street, Registrars, Jim Mullane, Noel Bray and Diane McCarthy.

Working committee: Mary Long, Kathryn Hewitt, Jerry Linehan, Don O’Shea, Sean Leahy, Tom Mulcahy, John Leahy.

Summer competitions saw Stephen Coveney win the Summer league and the Telecom club were the Peter Fenlon memorial summer league winners with the Joshua Tree crowned Leukaemia tournament winners.

Brian Kiely representing the Muskerry Arms took the B and C singles title while Jason Kavanagh and Mary Long were the mixed doubles winners and Dave Looney took the Pat Corcoran memorial singles championship.

The October doubles gala played at the Arcadia went to Mick Doherty and Stephen Coveney of the CIE club and the Charity Shield also went to the CIE team.

St, Vincent’s were crowned premier division league champions while the RB Legion were 1st, division winners Stephen O’Connor and Jason Kavanagh were crowned Beamish millennium men’s doubles at the Arcadia and the Joshua Tree ladies were A division league winners.

The Easter darts gala men’s doubles at the Arcadia once again went to St, Vincent’s as Stephen O’Connor and Jason Kavanagh took the honours while Gerry McCullagh and Paul McKeon of the RB Legion were B and C doubles winners.

Kathryn Hewitt of Ma Dullea’s was a winner of the ladies Satzenbrau singles championship, Liam Moynihan of the Local took the men’s Guinness individual championship and Martin Cotter representing the Island Tavern was crowned the Murphy Cork City individual champion in his defeat of Darren Downey from St, Vincent’s in the final played at the Brewery Tap on Leitrim Street.

Frank Goulding.

About Frank Goulding