Don't Miss
Home > Uncategorised > Cork Darts Organisation highlights of season 2004/2005

Cork Darts Organisation highlights of season 2004/2005

The 28th, Annual General Meeting of the Cork Darts Organisation was held at the Telecom club on McCurtain Street with the following elected to serve on CDO committee for upcoming season.

President Councillor Michael O’Connell, Chairman Roy O’Donovan, Secretary Frank Goulding, Treasurer Sean Street, Monday Registrar Jim Mullane, Friday Registrar Noel Bray, Ladies Registrar, Mary Long, working committee, Tim Jones, Don O’Shea, Jim Cullinane, Sean Leahy, Fonsie Ring, Michael Cremin, Jerry Higgins, Diane McCarthy, Anna Dorgan, Caroline Condon, Rita Hannigan, Allison Carroll,Breda Barrett.

St, Vincent’s were the Leukaemia tournament winners in the final played at Ma Dullea’s while another St, Vincent’s man Eddie Hennessy was crowned CDO B and C singles champion apart from the Garda coming in to watch the final the same night.

The St, Vincent’s team captain Jerry Walsh being presented with the winners Trophy by Doctor Brian Buckeridge

The October bank holiday Monday darts gala at St, Vincent’s had on the day the semifinals and final of the beamish individual championship incorporated into the programme due to it not being finished on its original date and it was won by Stephen Coveney with the doubles going to the Tower Bar through Christy Hennessy and Dinny Bobs.

The ladies doubles championship went to the Red Cove Inn pairing of Mother and Daughter Lillian and Gillian Higgins while it was Jerry Coughlan who took the youths singles title.

Ladies CDO October doubles champions at St, Vincent’s being presented with their prize by Irish International Eddie Cull are Mother and Daughter Lillian and Gillian Higgins from the Red Cove Inn.

The Charity Shield went to the Tower Bar and in the Joe Kenny memorial team competition played at the Fob and Gill it was the home side who won.

Dan O’Leary representing St, Columbus Hall in Douglas Village (Tinny Shed) was the winner of the Pat Corcoran memorial singles championship played at St, Vincent’s while it was Chevy’s Bar who came through to take the Beamish B division league in the final played at the Joshua Tree while the High House took the C division .

Ger Cooke from Beamish presenting Chevy’s captain John Byrne with the Beamish B division cup after his team had won the final played at the Joshua Tree.

The CDO ladies doubles were played at the Telecom club and it was the pairing of Bronagh Mallon and Theresa Kenny who claimed the title and Stephen Coveney put another notch on the CDO individual championship cup as he won his eight in the final played at St, Vincent’s.

Tower Bar were crowned Beamish A division league champions and also added the Beamish Gallows super cup to their trophy display with the Shamrock Bar winning the CDO Guinness challenge cup.

Doughcloyne Hotel were the Ma Dullea plate winners and it was the High House who took the Tom Lynch KO cup.

Frank Goulding

About Frank Goulding