Don't Miss
Home > Uncategorised > Cork Darts Organisation season 2005/2006 highlights

Cork Darts Organisation season 2005/2006 highlights

Martin “Wooly Back” McCarthy pictured with Peter Manley at St, Vincent’s on Sunday March 26th, 2006 during Manley’s exhibition at the club.

The 29th, annual general meeting of the Cork Darts Organisation was held at the Telecom club on McCurtain Street on Tuesday August 16 2005.

The CDO summer singles championship was won by Stephen Coveney and it was Sean Downey representing the Joshua Tree who came away with the Pat Corcoran memorial singles championship.

The Joshua Tree were crowned Shandon View Leukaemia tournament winners in the final played at Kennedy’s Lounge on Blarney Road and the Joe Kenny memorial 4 A-side was won by the Fob and Gill.

Sean Leahy, captain of the Joshua Tree team who were winners of the 2006 Shandon View Leukaemia tournament in the final played at Kennedy’s Lounge on Blarney Road receiving the trophy from sponsor Paul Hayes of Paul Hayes Decorators.

Ma Dullea’s ladies were the best in the A division league and so were the B team from Ma Dullea’s as the ladies double came to the Tower Street venue while over in the men’s leagues it was the Fob and Gill who were B division champions and another title went to Tower Street as Ma Dullea’s also won the C division league title.

Yours truly being interrogated and ganged-up on by senior committee members at the Red Cove Inn during the Beamish league finals back in 1995, the Chairman Roy O’Donovan, Sean Street Treasurer and Friday registrar Tom Hegarty, I lost this one.

The Easter darts gala men’s doubles winners at St, Vincent’s were Chris O’Neill and Eddie Cull from the Tower Bar and the Charity Shield went to Án Ciotóg and it was Stephen Coveney who once more came through to take his ninth Cork City individual championship as he collected the winners cup after the final played at a packed St, Vincent’s GAA club.

Feelers were put out, (Due to players inquiring) to all teams below the Premier division grade on the holding of a junior individual players league along the lines of the Premier players individual league that has been running for the past 2 seasons not including this season.

However, after a lengthy six weeks of waiting only 14 players representing just 5 teams came back informing the committee that they would like to get involved in the junior individual league, needless to say the idea was scrapped.

Action from the St, Vincent’s in-house individual championship back in November 2001 shows Stephen O’Connor marking a game while William Goulding warms up on the board directly behind.
This in-house cup at St, Vincent’s was reputed to be even harder to win than many of the CDO singles competitions because of the quality of the young players that were with the teams at that time.

Kathryn Hewitt was crowned ladies Satzenbrau singles champion and it was her team Ma Dullea’s who won the ladies A division cup while the High House ladies took the B division cup.

Stephen O’Connor and Jason Kavanagh were once again the Beamish new year doubles champions as they won out at St, Vincent’s while the Island Tavern were Beamish super cup winners and the Anglers were winners of the Beamish A division cup.

Rita Hannigan and Kathryn Hewitt took the CDO ladies doubles championship played at the Telecom club and Damien O’Driscoll was the Guinness individual champion, the Mountain were the Ma Dullea plate winners while Joe Long was awarded the Cork Indoor Sports Award for 2006.

Frank Goulding

About Frank Goulding