Don't Miss
Home > Uncategorised > City singles is back for 72nd, time.

City singles is back for 72nd, time.

The Cork Darts Orginisation saw the completion of the quarter final stages in the Super, 1st and 2nd division on Monday last, and the semi-finals and finals will be played on Friday March 25th.  The Gallows bar will host the Super division semi-finals and it’s The Joshua tree (2) to face the Cow bar and the Groves (1) take on Top of the Hill.

The Joshua Tree will be holding the division 1 semi-finals and it’s Riverlane (1) versus Hannah Bawns and Gallows (1) against Ma Dullea’s.

In Division 2, at the Local bar, Glenrryan (2) will play Jack Fordes while Aunties take on D’Anglers.  

All games are down for a 9:15 start, with the final to follow in each venue. 

The Groves 3 were crowned Junior C champions on Monday last, with a 3-0 win against the Muskerry in the Semifinals and winning 3-2 in a last leg decider against the Riverlane.

The penultimate competition of the 2021/2022 season commences on Monday, March 21st across all 4 divisions. 

The Cork Darts Organisation men’s Cork City individual championship will be held on Friday April 8th, at the Joshua Tree on Blarney Street which has hosted the event since season 2017/18 when Dean Forde took the title .

This will be the 72nd, staging (Interupted by Covid19 pandemic for 2 seasons)of this long running singles competition that began it’s life back in 1949 and it was commonly know by it’s sponsors name, the Murphy individual championship through it’s sponsor Murphy’s Stout who sponsored the championship up until 2007 with the first ever winner of the singles title Tim Carey who represented the Corner House.

One Father and son pairing has the honour of winning the title with Paddy Cotter who won it while playing for the Sportsman’s Rest on Dominick Street in 1967 being followed 33 years later by his son Martin Cotter as he won it while playing for the Island Tavern in 2000 winning it at the Brewery Tap on Leitrim Street.

Damien O’Driscoll has won the championship on 5 occasions, 2007/09/10/11/13 while two players have won it on 4 occasions, Matt O’Sullivan in 1968/75/79/81 and Chris O’Neill in 1991/92/98/99 while John O’Shea and Stephen O’Connor each have three wins under there belts, O’Shea in 2002, 2003 and 2008, while O’Connor won in 2000/01, 2003/04 and also has the cup since it was last played for prior to the pandemic when he won at the Joshua Tree in season 2018/19.

However the honour of delivering the most wins goes to the living legend himself, Stephen Coveney who has been champion on no fewer that 9 times.

9 time Cork city individual Champion, Steve Coveney and current holder, Steve O’Connor

Coveney’s winning years were 1986,89/90/93/95/96/97/ 2005 and 2006.

He was attached to Con O’Donovan’s in 86/89 and 1990, CIE club in 93/95/96 and 97 and he played with the Watercourse Inn as he won it in 2005 and 2006.

Mention of Coveney it would seem he still has the appetite for the sport as he recently won the Cork Darts Organisation Open Charity singles championship and was as sharp as he ever was.

Below is the full list of winners since first played for back in season 1949/50

1949/50-  Tim Carey*** Corner House

1950/51  –   Dan Browne***Stags Head

1951/52 –   Paddy Maher***Stags Head

1952/53 -Tim Hurley***Stags Head

1953/54 -Martin Mahony***Joe’s Place

1954/55 -Steve Murray***Raven

1955/56- Dan Browne***Stags Head

1956/57- Sil Manning***Raven

1957/58- Dan O’Donovan***Steeple

1958/59- John O’Shea***Coughlan’s

1959/60- Pat Mulcair***Raven

1960/61-John Daly***Chimes

1961/62-Pat Looney***Coughlan’s

1962/63-Sean Kelly***Coughlan’s

1963/64-Paddy Cotter***Sportsmans Rest

1964/65-Jack Forde***Steeple

1965/66-Mick O’Keefe***Molly Macs

1966/67-John Flynn***Dew Drop Inn

1967/68-Paddy Cotter***Sportsmans Rest

1968/69-Matt O’Sullivan***Riverview Inn

1969/70-Sonny Leonard***Sportsmans

1970/71-Denis McGrath***Collins Bks,

1971/72-Barry Greaney***Con O’Donovans

1972/73-Frank Murphy***Glenryan

1973/74-John Buckley***Refinery Club

1974/75-Liam Guiney***Shandon View

1975/76-Matt O’Sullivan***Black Swan

1976/77-Noel Fowley***Fowley’s

1977/78-Joe Spillane***Ardmanning

1978/79-Jerome Good***Refinery Club

1979/80-Tom Elliffe***Fowley’s

1980/81-Matt O’Sullivan-Oval

1981/82-Gerald Sheehan-Whitnells

1982/83-Matt O’Sullivan***Oval

1983/84-John Buckley***Handlebars

1984/85-John Hadlow***Boothouse

1985/86-Stephen Coveney***Con O’Donovan’s

1986/87-Denis McCarthy***Sportsmans Rest

1987/88-Ted O’Mahony***Con O’Donovan’s

1988/89-Stephen Coveney***Con O’Donovan;s

1989/90-Stephen Coveney***Con O’Donovan’s

1990/91-Chris O’Neill***CIE Club

1991/92-Chris O’Neill***CIE Club

1992/93-Stephen Coveney***CIE Club

1993/94-James Corcoran***CIE Club

1994/95-Stephen Coveney***CIE Club

1995/96-Stephen Coveney***CIE Club

1996/97-Stephen Coveney***CIE Club

1997/98-Chris O’Neill***CIE Club

1998/99-Chris O’Neill***CIE Club

1999/2000-Martin Cotter***Island Tavern

2000/01-Stephen O’Connor***St, Vincent’s

2001/02-John O’Shea***St, Vincent’s

2002/03-John O’Shea***Island Tavern

2003/04-Stephen O’Connor***Watercourse Inn

2004/05-Stephen Coveney***Watercourse Inn

2005/06-Stephen Coveney***Watercourse Inn

2006/07-Damien O’Driscoll***Watercourse Inn

2007/08-John O’Shea***Gerald Griffin

2008/09-Damien O’Driscoll***Brian Dillon’s

2009/10-Damien O’Driscoll***Brian Dillon’s

2010-/11-Damien O’Driscoll***Brian Dillon’s

2011/12-John “Dinny Bob’s” McCarthy***Tower Bar

2012/13-Damien O’Driscoll***Joshua Tree

2013/14-Martin Dineen***Anglers

2014/15-John Kiely***Tower Bar

2015/16-Radek Szaganski***Harp

2016/17-Robbie O’Donovan***Groves

2017/18-Dean Forde***Groves

2018/19-Stephen O’Connor***Joshua Tree

2019/20-No championship due to Pandemic

2020/21-No championship due to pandemic


About Frank Goulding