Don't Miss
Home > Uncategorised > Teehan crowned Premier Champ again

Teehan crowned Premier Champ again

Ciarán Teehan retained his title at the sixteenth staging of the Cork Darts Organisation men’s Heineken sponsored Premier players individual league as he defeated former champion Declan Gostl in the final played at the Groves Lounge.

The qualifying rounds of this years Premier league were played over a round robin format two weeks ago at the same venue and it had sixteen players emerge from those qualifying proceedings to go forward and contest the knockout stages.

Stephen O’Connor from Quinlans and Craig Bowen of the Groves got the championship underway with O’Connor going through 2-0 in a best of three, sets and legs format.

Jason Galway overcame the challenge of David O’Donovan 2-1, Declan Gostl defeated Steven Kearney 2-0, Eddie Cull defeated Adam Cambridge 2-1, William Fouhy who was in great throwing form going into this Premier league continued in that vein as he outscored Kevin McDonnell 2-0.

Another man in fine form Damien O’Driscoll went through as he outscored Robert O’Donovan 2-0 and Steven Sheehan defeated Pierce Carmody 2-1 with the final game in the first round having Ciarán Teehan get the better of Top of the Hill player Alan Twomey 2-0.

The quarterfinals were then increased to the best of five sets with each set the best of three legs and there were wins at this stage for Galway by 3-2 against O’Connor, Gostl defeating Cull 3-0, O’Driscoll defeated Fouhy in what was a real nail-bitter by 3-2 and Teehan defeated Sheehan 3-0.

The following semifinals saw Gostl score a 3-1 win over Galway and Teehan was a 3-0 winner over another former champion in six times winner Damien O’Driscoll.

The final however proved to be a little bit of an anti climax as it did not reach the heights that many were expecting but Teehan was definitely deserving of his win with him not having dropped a set of darts throughout the entire evening after wins of 2-0/ 3-0/ 3-0 and 4-0 of what was a really entertaining night of darts watching.

Accepting theCDO Heineken sponsored Premier players individual league trophy is winner 2022 Ciarán Teehan with CDO Chairman Mark Farrell on left and Michael O’Connell CDO President.

Tonight the semifinals and final of the Premier league will be played at the Groves and the line up here is; Quinlans 2 v Riverstown Inn and Groves 1 v Joshua Tree at 8.15pm with the final to follow.

Also tonight we have both semifinals and final of the CDO division 3 league with the line-up as follows; Muskerry Arms v Hennessy’s and Residence v Ma Dulleas 2 at 8.15pm with final to follow

At the Glenryan Tavern first division quarterfinals; Local 1 v Joshua Tree and Residence v River Lane.

At the Local second division quarterfinals; Joshua Tree 3 v Maple Leaf and Tower v Local 2 with games at each venue to commence no later than 9.30pm.

The semifinals and finals of both the first and second division will be played on Monday December 12.

Frank Goulding.

About Mark Farrell